The books that changed my life…

The Rules of Life, Richard Templar:  ‘A personal code for living a better, happier, more successful kind of life.’

When I was recommended to read this book I was a little apprehensive, I find a book so confidently, obnoxiously named as ‘The Rules of Life’ to be slightly improbable, and I couldn’t quite fathom how 255 pages could teach me the ‘rules of life.’ How have I possibly managed to survive 21 years on this planet without this vital information?

However, I was pleasantly proven wrong. I mean, it didn’t change my life so-to-speak, and I haven’t been doing anything terribly ‘wrong’ all these years, but it did definitely change the way I saw, approached and accepted the world.

Now if you’re one of those people who lack a little motivation, or simply don’t have time (or commitment) to read a book so obnoxiously named: “The Rules of Life,” all I have to say is trust me and give it a go. What I absolutely love about this book is it is an effortless read. I tend to only read one rule a day,  while out commuting, before I sleep or simply when I’m lacking motivation or confidence. And it truly brings so much enlightenment, contentment and pleasure into my day.

 Examples of rules: Think for yourself, Draw the lines around yourself, Be kind, Maintain good manners in all things.

Big Magic, Elizabeth Gilbert: ‘Creative living beyond fear.’ (Bestselling Author of ‘Eat Pray Love’)

This beyond-inspiring book is all about Author Elizabeth Gilbert’s life, wisdom, and inspirational encounters throughout her life; perception on fait, karma, life challenges and how she turns every negative into a positive.

Reading this book I found so much happiness and joy in the optimism that beams into your soul, as cringe-worthy as it sounds, from the stories shared of Gilbert’s life. I love how she is so openly honest about her career and personal life – and how she manages to create amazing short stories that will forever inspire you.

These amazing books have given me a much more fulfilled, calm mind, and I’m truly in love with both the books and their authors!

One thought on “The books that changed my life…

  1. adamcox64 says:

    I enjoyed reading your post. I too would be sceptical of a book with that title, but it’s good to be open-minded too — which you clearly are.

    As for the writing, there were quite a few issues. None are killer problems but they’re the sort that will annoy any editor. I’ll offer an annotated version of your post below (my comments are in brackets; note that s/b means “should be”):

    The rules of Life, Richard Templar: ‘A personal code for living a better, happier, more successful kind of life.’ (Adam: Should that not be Rules with an upper case R? This appears throughout.)

    when (Adam: s/b “When” with an upper case W) was recommended to read this book I was a little apprehensive, (Adam: s/b a full stop here, not a comma) I find a book so confidently, obnoxiously named as “The rules of life” to be slightly improbable, and I couldn’t quite fathom how 255 pages could teach me the ‘rules of life.’ (Adam: You’re switching a lot – sometimes single quotes, sometimes double quotes, sometimes Life is upper, sometimes not) How have I possibly managed to survive 21 years on this planet without this vital information?

    However, I was pleasantly proven wrong. I mean, it didn’t change my life so-to-speak, and I haven’t been doing anything terribly ‘wrong’ all these years, but it did definitely change the way I saw, approached and accepted the world.

    Now if you’re one of them (Adam: s/b “those”) people who lack a little motivation, or simply don’t have time (or commitment) to read a book so obnoxiously named: “The rules of life,” all I have to say is trust me and give it a go. What I absolutely love about this book is it is an effortless read. I tend to only read one rule a day; while out commuting, before I sleep or simply when I’m lacking motivation or confidence and it truly brings so much enlightenment, contentment and pleasure into my day. (Adam: s/b two separate sentences like this: “I tend to only read one rule a day, while out commuting, before I sleep or simply when I’m lacking motivation or confidence. And it truly brings so much enlightenment, contentment and pleasure into my day.”

    Examples of rules: Think for yourself, Draw the lines around yourself, Be kind, Maintain good manners in all things.

    Big Magic, Elizabeth Gilbert: ‘Creative living beyond fear.’ (Bestselling Author of ‘Eat Pray Love’)

    This beyond-inspiring book is all about Author Elizabeth Gilbert’s life, wisdom, and inspirational encounters throughout her life; perception on fait, karma, life-challenges and how she turns every negative into a positive.

    Reading this book I found so much happiness and joy in the optimism that beams into your soul, as cringe-worthy as it sounds, from the stories shared of Gilbert’s life. I love how she is so openly-honest (Adam: Don’t need a hyphen in that case – use them when it’s potentially not clear that two words are linked together. For instance, you would need to say “a five-year-old plan” because without those hyphens, it could be read as a five-year plan which happens to be old) about her career and personal life – and how she manages to create amazing short-stories that will forever inspire you.

    These amazing books have given me a much more fulfilled, calm mind, and I’m truly in love with both the books and their Author’s! (Adam: s/b authors, lower case and plural not possessive)

    Like

Leave a Reply

