Just bite the bullet and go travel!

img_7128

I had always been that person who would say “I will one day” or “before I die I will”, whenever someone had tried convincing me to do something outside of my comfort-zone. At the time I thought travelling was something everyone said they would do, but just kept putting off; got an education, a career, kids and a family and never actually had, nor made, the time to go explore the world they said they would in their ‘prime-time’ adolescent years.

I always remember the repetitive 1st of January feeling after reflecting on the previous year’s resolution list. And out of all the numerous (some ridiculous) resolutions I made, the only one that gave me a sigh of disappointment  was the one that was continuously made my number 1. resolution. To travel more. Essentially, that is the one I never seemed to bite-the-bullet to do. And this was all down to one thing… fear.

Fear is something hard to conquer, but here are some tips on how I took the plunge and finally went travelling…

  1. Tell people – whenever I had made my year new-years resolution list, I would write it down on a piece of paper, fold it up as tight as origami and shove it deep in my draw  like it never existed. Last year, however, I made a pact with myself that I would tell as many people as I could (without seeming like a crazy person) and tell them my travelling plans. This way you can never not be reminded when you bump into someone you told!
  2. Save money – now this is probably the hardest things to do. Obviously money is needed to travel the world, so start saving as soon as you can. I would put away a bit of my wage each month into a savings account and didn’t touch it until I needed to. Once you have enough money to go or do what you want, you have no excuse!
  3. Make a plan – I knew from the get-go my first travelling adventure would be to the U.S. And so, when I had time one evening, I bought a map and drew out my route, the cities I wanted to visit and the things I wanted to get up to. After finishing my travels, I realised this was one of the best things I could of done – to plan ahead.
  4. Invite friends – Once you ask someone to go with you, it’s very hard for you to ditch those plans. So, decide who you want to travel with, make a pact, and create a plan together. This way, you can have someone to share your fears and worries with and you will honestly feel a lot more at ease about everything. Trust me!
  5. Get booking – this is the last tip I have because once you get booking there’s no going back!  After you’ve saved money and made a travel itinerary, it’s time to get booking your flights and visiting the world! So what’s stopping you?!
One thought on “Just bite the bullet and go travel!

  1. adamcox64 says:

    Your posts are invariably interesting and entertaining. They do still have a lot of niggling issues. Here are some I saw in the first two paragraphs….

    I had always been that person that (Adam: s/b “who”) would say “I will one day” or “before I die I will”, when (Adam: s/b “whenever” — this is because of the word “would” earlier) someone had tried convincing me to do something outside of my comfort-zone. At the time I thought travelling was something everyone said they would do, but just kept putting off; got an education, a career, kids and a family and never actually had, nor made, the time to go explore the world they said they would in their ‘prime-time’ adolescent years.

    I always remember the repetitive 1st of January feeling after reflecting on the previous years’ (Adam: s/b “year’s”) resolution list. And out of all the numerous (some ridiculous) resolutions I made, the only one that gave me a sigh of disappointment, (Adam: no need for that last comma) was the one that was continuously made my number 1. resolution. To travel more. (Adam: probably better to say: “… my number 1. resolution: To travel more.”) Because essentially, that is the one I never seemed to bite-the-bullet to do. And this was all down to one thing… fear. (Adam: technically speaking you should not start a sentence with because, but I think you can get away with it in this case.)

    Like

Leave a Reply

