How I treasure those memories

I am the biggest hoarder of pictures and photographs and I feel the need to take as many photos as imaginable. My camera roll is at around 3,000 pictures and I have no idea how! (Please don’t judge me *eye roll*).

When I was 17 I held all my pictures onto my laptop so I could delete them off my phone for storage. And would never get the pictures developed. Bad move Taylor. My laptop somehow crashed and broke, and I had no backup of my thousands and thousands of pictures that I had accumulated since I was about 11, and as you can probably imagine an 11 year old let loose with taking pictures, meant I had millions. And they had all been wiped clear (brb while I cry about this  –  still).

How I store my pictures
So, I now take everything I have inside of me to make sure these memories are not leaving my side, literally! I tend to take my pictures using either my phone or my camera and thank the lord for modern technology – iCloud hooks me up by syncing my phone/camera pictures upto my laptop.

After my traumatic experience of losing my photos – and for a girl with a bad memory it felt like I lost my childhood – I invested in a portable hard drive. I will now and then take this to my local Tesco and get some of my pictures developed, because frankly, a girl with my history cannot take too many precautions!

For Christmas a couple of years back, my parents bought me a Fujifilm Instax printer, where you can connect your phone and easily print pictures off onto a Polaroid style photograph.

How I edit my pictures
When it comes to editing I aim to keep the original picture as natural as I can, so I can keep the  memory as authentic as possible. The only app I use is VSCO – it’s super easy to use and gives the effect to the pictures I desire without being over edited.

Here’s an example of a photograph I took and slightly edited. The main things I adjust are the saturation, crop and colour vibrancy. Church: Cathedral de San Juan Bautista, Puerto Rico.

Some of my favourite photographs I’ve taken + edited

screen-shot-2017-03-06-at-11-22-11

Louisiana swamp

screen-shot-2017-03-06-at-11-20-53

sunset at Monument valley

img_7210

North Face rock, Yosemite National Park

screen-shot-2017-03-06-at-11-20-02

Horseshoe Bend, Arizona

img_3061

Culebra Island, Puerto Rico

img_4274

Shore in Puerto Rico

screen-shot-2017-03-06-at-11-09-14

Brighton Pier

img_3023

Puerto Rico street

img_9458

Rodeo Drive

screen-shot-2017-03-06-at-11-11-51

behind the Hollywood Sign

img_7270

Yosemite National Park waterfall

One thought on “How I treasure those memories

  1. adamcox64 says:

    Great pictures. Although I’m sure the 11-year-old you was not taking such accomplished pictures, I can certainly imagine why you would have been devastated. The writing is good. You got in a bit of a muddle in the second paragraph.

    You wrote: “When I was 17 and I held all my pictures onto my laptop so I could delete them off my phone for storage, and would never get the pictures developed.” I think that should be: “When I was 17 I held all my pictures onto my laptop so I could delete them off my phone for storage. And I would never get the pictures developed.”

    But otherwise it’s clear and, as usual, vibrant. I also got to learn a new term… brb! (I had to look it up, I’m sorry to say.)

    Like

Leave a Reply

