My go-to makeup routine

These are one of my favourite blog posts to read about. I think its because what more could a girl want than reading about make-up and getting to be nosey into other peoples makeup bags! I am someone that loves to experiment and switch up makeup products quite frequently, HOWEVER… I think these products here and my all time favourite products that are my “safe” items that never let me down…


The base

Screen Shot 2017-03-22 at 16.50.16


Foundation
I know what you’re thinking, ‘L’oreal True Match is old news’, but I was a little late to the party and only picked this up a couple of months ago and I am OBSESSED! It is the loveliest consistency and matches my skin tone so well. The foundation isn’t too matte nor dewy and find it’s perfect for my combination skin. I use shade 3.N.

Primer
Before you think ‘again Taylor, you’re late to the party with the Porefessional primer’ I used to use this years ago but moved onto newer products on the market. However, after struggling to find a just-as-reliable primer, I had to return to this as it works fabulously and never lets me down!

Concealer
Cheap and cheerful is the definition of the Lasting Perfection Collection concealer. I use shade 1 and it brightens my under eyes like nothing else and gives me great coverage for these never-sleeping students eyes!

Highlighter
I don’t use this everyday, but if I feel like I want that over the top under-eye brightening look, I will use a little bit of the Mac Prep & Prime in shade Light boost over my concealer. And voilá, a youthful, glow from within appearance!

Powders

IMG_1006

Bronzing
As a pale girl like I am, bronzing is my saving grace. The Chanel Soleil Tan De Chanel is the perfect shade for my skin to give a bronzed look while looking natural. As it’s a cream consistency it looks natural on the skin. This product has lasted me for a very long time as you only need a little bit to get the perfect bronzed-goddess look!

Powder
I tend to stick to loose powders to set my foundation as it gives me a more natural look without looking thick on my face. The one I love is Laura Mercier’s Translucent Loose Powder as its very finely milled and sits nicely on my skin.

Contour
Everyone and their Mums love this product – Hoola Bronzer by Benefit – it’s the perfect shade for contouring!

Blush
I am not really a big fan of blusher, personally blushes don’t look to great on me so for years I have avoided using them. I came across  Illamasqua’s blush in Lover in my friends make-up collection and was taken back how nice it looked on my skin tone. I HAD to pick one up and it’s now a staple in my make-up routine. It’s the perfect muted pink/coral colour and the perfect ‘naturally blushed’ blusher.

Highlighter
THIS. IS. LIFE. The Mary-Lou manizer by the Balm is insane! If you haven’t heard anyone talk about or seen it for yourself you need find one in your local drugstore! I came across this in Boot’s and new I couldn’t leave the store without it. It’s the perfect highlight shade – not too yellow/white and is highly pigmented. Not only is the product so finely milled and gives you an intense highlight but the package is so adorable!

Eyes

Screen Shot 2017-03-22 at 16.42.17.png

Mascara
Clinique Chubby Lash mascara gives me volume and darkness. Because I am naturally blonde, my eyelashes are also very fare in colour, so I find this is the only mascara that gives me an intense black lash and makes them double in thickness and length at the same time. What more could you want?

Eyeliner
I am someone who can go days and weeks without using eyeliner, it just depends on how I am feeling on the day. Somedays I don’t have the time nor energy to focus on applying eyeliner, but when I do have those extra minutes, my go-to eyeliner is the E.L.F in Jet Black. The brush is very skinny and the product in the pot is very runny, so it glides along my lash line so easily. And like its name, it’s a very dark black so no need to go over twice!

Eyebrows
I don’t need to go on and on about this item because I bet everyone already knows how amazing it is. Anastasia Dip-brow in light brown is my one and only item I need for my brows! Perfect shade, consistency and super easy to apply.

Eyeshadow
I have tried numerous different brands of eyeshadows and never found eyeshadows as great as the ones in this palette. I can create a simple everyday look to more of an intense-drama look.

Lips

Screen Shot 2017-03-22 at 16.50.36.png

Lipliner
Mac lipliner in Boldly Bare is the perfect shade for my lips. Like they say, ‘your lips but better’. I can wear this by itself and it looks so natural, it blends in with my lip colour and gives the appearance my natural lips look fuller and more defined. It’s very easy to apply and doesn’t pull of rub of easy.

Lipstick
Again, notorious for their great lipsticks – Mac Kinda sexy. This is, like the lipliner, a great shade for my natural lip colour. It is similar to Mac’s Velvet Teddy by slightly more peachy than brown – perfect for everyday!

Lipstain
If i know I won’t have time to reapply my lipstick every 2 minutes, I will use the Maybelline 24 Hour superstar lipstain in shade Creme Caramel, over the top of Kinda Sexy. It is very similar in shade but gives it a matte appearance, and like the name says, stays all day without flaking or cracking on the lips.

One thought on “My go-to makeup routine

  1. adamcox64 says:

    It was good to see that you were able to cut down on many of the mistakes you were making in the early blog posts. You’ve got a nice writing style and your voice comes out naturally. You just need to nail down the rules of writing a bit more so that that voice can become that much more expressive. In the later entries, I noticed some residual issues with possessives (girl’s vs girls, its vs it’s). I also noticed the occasional comma splice. But the sentence construction was definitely better.

    Like

Leave a Reply

